YA Book Reviews

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna and the French Kiss is one of those books that makes me feel like an old Parisian woman, husky-voiced from smoking too many cigarettes, commenting on passerby, “oh, to be young and in love!”

This debut young adult romance novel from Stephanie Perkins is delightfully fun to read, with relatable characters and familiar storylines that remind us high school is basically the same wherever you go. In fact, much of the ‘drama’ in this book had me hooked as much as my own school’s drama in my senior year, with striking similarity in circumstances! If any of you are wondering (as I was) if you were like Anna at 17, the answer is probably yes. To me, this brought the book to life in a way that many new “contemporary” YA novels simply keep missing the mark on. I believe that you could read this at 17 or 47 and still feel the same sting of betrayal, giddiness of a first kiss, and relief that comes with everything turning out just fine.

~

If you’re thinking, “I really liked this book, but I’m having a hard time finding contemporary books with the same style that this one had,” here are a couple of recommendations for you.

If any of y’all have more suggestions for contemporary YA lit like these, please do not hesitate to comment! I’m always looking for new books to read, review, and recommend 🙂

2 thoughts on “Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

