Trying Something New · YA Book Reviews

February Uppercase Box: Starflight by Melissa Landers

A huge thank you to Lisa over at Uppercase Box for sending me this fabulous and extremely enjoyable signed copy of Starflight by Melissa Landers. While I’m waiting for my March box to arrive (hopefully tonight or tomorrow morning), I want to talk about how delightful and simply fun this book is.

Marketed as “Firefly for teens,” Starflight is the story of two teens bound together in an awful partnership, then an unlikely friendship, and finally a trusting relationship, facing obstacles that range from temporary amnesia to flying fists of fury against a fearsome space pirate. Space shenanigans ensue, making every twist and turn of the plot even more enjoyable and exciting than the last.

I expected to highly dislike Doran, as he falls into that category of snobby, self-obsessed male characters that I just can’t stand – however, after a roughly paced beginning, I found him to be unexpectedly endearing and funny. Honestly, the only parts of the book I didn’t enjoy were how quickly the book took off without much to hold my attention, and unfortunately it ended almost exactly the same way: huge gaps in the plot never got resolved, the focus shifting almost entirely to the romance by the time I turned the final page. If it wasn’t for how many laughs and small surprises the middle of the book got from me, I probably wouldn’t have liked it as much as I did. As it is, I quickly put it on top of my favorite books this year as a nice mindless read.

I can see where people felt a twinge of Firefly nostalgia with how the crew interacted with each other. Don’t get me wrong – this book is very different from the TV show. If you’re looking for Nathan Fillion as the fearsome (and handsome) space pirate, head over to Netflix. But if you’re looking for a fast-paced, adventurous teen romance (in space!), this is absolutely the book for you.

Leave a Reply

