Book Tags · Personal

Myself in Five Characters Book Tag

My boyfriend took a picture of me geeking out over A Court of Mist and Fury and insisted I make it the featured image for this post, so you guys get a bonus me in 5 characters (coincidentally, I was working on this post and taking a break when I had my geeky moment.) Shoutout & much thanks to Beth @ Reading Every Night for the tag! I spent a lot of time thinking about this, and it was so fun to go through my bookshelves and find traits I shared with some of my favorite characters across genres. Go check out her blog and amazing reviews, you guys!


Deryn Sharp – Leviathan by Scott Westerfield

I am a huge, borderline know-it-all dork about anatomy, and Deryn is the same way about airships. I loved how much of a huge nerd Deryn is, but I also loved how she supported Alek while he was struggling adjusting to Darwin travel, and other, more-spoilery things. Basically, she’s the bomb dot com, and we should be best friends because we’d click so fast.

7826215


Mal – Lumberjanes by Noelle Stevenson

Mal is a perpetually anxious, concerned mom, wicked queer cinnamon roll punk child. It is me and I am all of those things. I’m going to cosplay her one of these days because we are just the same person.

22554204


Margot – To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Like Margot, I left home (and my younger siblings) behind to go to college 12 hours away from anything I ever knew. My sister and I got really close after the divorce, so I felt a certain kinship with the relationship between Lara Jean and Margot and their single dad, and the strain on the family that comes from going away to a big university (especially considering they all still live in Richmond, VA, which is where this book takes place!)

15749186


Alison – Fun Home by Alison Bechdel

My dad is a teacher, and an avid reader who encouraged me to read more from a young age. He isn’t a closeted gay man like Bruce in this book, but the relationship cultivated through books that Alison and Bruce have, plus Alison’s passion for reading and using books as a way to explore her sexuality all resonate deeply with me and my own life.

26135825


Anna Cornick – Hunting Ground by Patricia Briggs

Obviously, I don’t turn into a werewolf, so that connection is right out. I chose this book in the series specifically because Anna is an Omega werewolf, which comes with an unusual set of perks…including having complete strangers open up to her because she makes people feel peace. I run into this a lot in my life: people just talk to me! And I’m totally okay with it, but I know it surprises others sometimes, like Sunny in this book. Part of the reason I’m studying to be a guidance counselor is because of how many people have told me that I’m easy to open up to. Like Anna, I want to do what I can for the people I care about.

5292853


I tag: Fatima @ NoteablePadJoey @ Thoughts and AfterthoughtsReg @ She LatitudeKatherine @ Fabled HavenMelissa @ BookNerdMomo, and anyone else who hasn’t done this tag yet! Happy blogging!

4 thoughts on “Myself in Five Characters Book Tag

  1. Your picture geeking out to A Court of Mist and Fury was very similar to my reaction reading most of that book! It’s amazing, have you finished yet?
    But I loved your answers for this tag. I haven’t actually read any of these books before but both Lumberjanes and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before are on my to-read list and I cannot wait to start them, especially Lumberjanes which I am hoping to get my hands on very very soon! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for the tag ❤
    Your picture is absolutely adorable! I haven't read any of these books, but I feel that you've provided great reasons for all of the characters. You sound like a wonderful, thoughtful person 🙂 I wish you all the best with guidance counselling!

    Like

Leave a Reply

