Monthly Updates

July TBR: A Month of Sequels!

I’ve started a fair amount of book series in the last 7 months, and I feel it is time to revisit some of my favorites…by reading their sequels! I’ve read quite a number of fantastical sequels recently and there are more that I can’t wait to devour when they are finally released, from Crooked Kingdom to A Torch Against the Night. For now, I’ll have to limit myself to what’s already out, and hope they live up to the magic of their predecessors.

After careful thinking, picking, and choosing, my list of sequels for July:

→ A Court of Mist and Fury: So at the end of the post, I mention how I’ll be linking back to reviews of the first book in each series…except for this one. You guys, I highly disliked A Court of Thorns and Roses, and I have no interest in rereading it, even for a review. No worries, though – I will totally write paragraphs about how much better the sequel is.

17927395


The Rose and the Dagger: The only sequel on this list that is also the end of the series. Why did it have to end, Renee, why?! -cue ugly sobbing-

23308084


→ The Winner’s Crime: The covers of these books never fail to dazzle me. But is the story inside just as bewitching as the book sleeve? And which is really the champ here, the blue dress or the red one? (My vote goes toward the blue. Check out the alternate covers on Goodreads.)

20443207


→ Ten Thousand Skies Above You: Another gorgeous cover. It was honestly what pulled me in when I started the first book, and I can say I was pleasantly surprised with how much I liked it. Definitely hoping the second book is just as good if not better than the first.

17234659


→ Blood Bound: It’s been a while since I’ve reviewed an urban fantasy book, so in the spirit of bring that back, I’m gonna talk about this gem. Definitely by far my favorite book in the series, it’s getting near the time for me to do a full reread before the final book comes out in 2017!

285205


→ Scarlet: The sequel to the first book I ever reviewed. I’m really excited to jump back into this series, especially because Scarlet is definitely a fan favorite.

13206760


I’ll be linking my reviews of the first book to each post, so if you want to know what I thought about book one of each series, check them out at the beginning of the review. Not all of my favorite series sequels are included this time around, and it was hard to pick which ones to read this month. If I can squeeze any more in, you know I will be! I’ll also continue doing various tags, my regularly scheduled Mid-Week Mini Reviews, plus a handful of ARCs that are coming out this month. Stay tuned.

What are some of your favorite sequels? Are there any sequels you liked better than the first book, or ones that ruined the entire series for you? Let me know in the comments below! 

3 thoughts on “July TBR: A Month of Sequels!

  1. Oh these are all amazing books in my opinion. Some of these are seriously all-time favourites of mine, The Lunar Chronicles is a brilliant series and so is the ACOTAR books, so I really really hope you love them as much as I did. I’ll be eagerly waiting for your reviews for each as well! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

