Book Tags

Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books I’ve Read From Recommendation

Quite a challenge for me this week, and something I had to think about harder than I anticipated, but I think I came up with a pretty solid 10 for this week. As always, this weekly meme is hosted by the blogging masterminds over at The Broke and the Bookish.

Recommended to me by friends: 

• The Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan – I was dating a guy in high school who LOVED this book series, grew up with it and everything, and I originally read it back when I was crushing hard and would do anything to get him to notice me. Now, it’s definitely one of my all-time favorite series, and that guy still hasn’t read the most recent book that came out the year we graduated. If you’re reading this, you know who you are. Go read that book. It made me cry.

• Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas – My roommate last year is a diehard fan of these books, and couldn’t believe I’d never read them when she moved in. By Christmas, I had read the first 3 books plus Assassin’s Blade, and we are both anxiously awaiting the arrival of our copies of Empire of Storms in the mail for a buddy read.

• Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr – I believe this was the first book I read in 2016, because my boyfriend & I took our friend shopping and she wanted to buy this and the other books in this series. I think it only took me like 2 hours to get through the whole thing while she was still shopping. #likeaboss

Read because of fellow bloggers: 

• Kill The Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky – extremely popular Goodreads blogger Emily May really enjoyed this book as a former fangirl herself. I honestly didn’t like it all that much, and generously gave it a 2.5-3 star rating. I know there are more people that loved it, but I guess it just wasn’t for me.

• A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas – Y’all, I DID NOT LIKE a A Court of Thorns and Roses. It was so bad I laughed from sheer ridiculousness. Everybody in it rubbed me the wrong way, and Feyre was a useless pile of nope for the entirety of that book. However, after reading the positively glowing reviews from all you spectacular folk about how ah-mazing this book was, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to pick it up. Goddamnisitsogood. 

• My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows – Initially I decided to overlook this new release, because I’d found Cynthia & Jodi’s previous works to be just meh and not all that interesting. A surprising amount of people ended up reading MLJ after both Uppercase Box and OwlCrate featured it as their book of the month earlier this year, and I jumped on the bandwagon after seeing so much love for it. My short yet spectacular review of it will be up tomorrow! 

Read because of my favorite authors: 

• Clean Sweep by Ilona Andrews – Honestly, Ilona and Gordon could write a grocery list and I’d still give it 5 stars. I’m still not sure if I like reading their unedited serial novels, but it’s too good to pass up.

• Prudence by Gail Carriger – I love Gail and the entire Soulless series, don’t get me wrong. But this was not what I expected, nor wanted it to be, and I was left feeling disappointed and unhappy with how it turned out.

• Truthwitch by Susan Dennard – At the end of Heir of Fire, Sarah leaves a super heartfelt and adorable acknowledgement for her “Jaegar co-pilot” Susan. Unfortunately, I cannot get into her books. For all the love and the hype from arguably one of my favorite authors, it just wasn’t up to snuff as far as I’m concerned, and it makes me so sad to say so.

THANKS MOM,

kate daniels

Me: *home sick from school*

My mom: You can come with me to the store if you want.

Me: Is it okay if I just stay in the car while you’re in there?

My mom: Yeah, I shouldn’t be more than an hour, hour and a half. You can read the book in my purse if you want to.

Me: Yeah, sure, okay.

BEST DECISION I EVER MADE.  All time favorite right here you guys. Thanks, mom! 

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books I’ve Read From Recommendation

  1. Great picks for this week, and oh I love the reason you picked up Magic Bites as well. I really love that series (I can’t remember how I discovered it but it probably just me randomly picking it up at the bookstore one day).
    I started reading My Lady Jane and pretty much all of Sarah J Maas’s book because of fellow bloggers, they’re favourites of mine so obviously it was a great choice picking them up! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t track where I find a book, so I had to stick to recent reads in order to have a hope of remembering. But way to stumble on a great series by Ilona Andrews! I have to agree that the edited version of the Sweep series reads much smoother than the snippets they post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Magic Bites ❤ ❤ Have not read it, but it's on my TBR and now it needs to be higher! Sad you didn't like Prudence.. I enjoyed seeing all the characters grown up and dealing with crazy youngsters (although the Macons seemed a bit fuddy duddy?).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Quite a few awesome books on here! I have Kill The Boy Band on my shelf currently and I think it’s an interesting premise, sad to hear you didn’t like it.
    I absolutely loved My Lady Jane too but have yet to get a review up for it, it’s just so good I don’t know how to write one haha!
    I wasn’t a big fan of Truthwitch, I found it really lacking especially since there was so much hype for it.
    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I don’t think I’ve seen any book bloggers mention the Rangers aprentice series before. I sped through a lot of them when I was going through an illness and they were so good. I never finished them though. Maybe I should?
    Same thing with the brotherband series set in the same world.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

