ARC Book Reviews · Mid-Week Mini Reviews

Mid-Week Mini Review: Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige (ARC)

I received an advanced copy of this book from Bloomsbury and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not change how I feel about this book.

Title: Stealing Snow by Danielle Page

Release date: September 20th, 2016

Genre: Young Adult – Fantasy, Retelling

Verdict: One star, one and a half at best.

Seventeen-year-old Snow has spent her life locked in Whittaker Psychiatric—but she isn’t crazy. And that’s not the worst of it. Her very first kiss proves anything but innocent…when Bale, her only love, turns violent.

Despite Snow knowing that Bale would never truly hurt her, he is taken away—dashing her last hope for any sort of future in the mental ward she calls home. With nowhere else to turn, Snow finds herself drawn to a strange new orderly who whispers secrets in the night about a mysterious past and a kingdom that’s hers for the taking—if only she can find her way past the iron gates to the Tree that has been haunting her dreams.

Beyond the Tree lies Algid, a land far away from the real world, frozen by a ruthless king. And there too await the River Witch, a village boy named Kai, the charming thief Jagger, and a prophecy that Snow will save them all.

If I had to summarize this book in one word, it would be disappointing. If you gave me a sentence, I’d tell you you’re better off eating the blandest piece of stale bread in a snowstorm than put up with this nonsense. Maybe it’s the stereotypical interpretation of mental illness and asylums, or the love SQUARE that absolutely drove me up a wall. I desperately wanted to find something redeeming about this story; after all, I really enjoyed the original tale of the Snow Queen, and most of the retellings I’ve seen this year have exceeded my original expectations. I’ve heard amazing things about the Dorothy Must Die trilogy, and jumped excitedly into this story when I heard it was by the same author that so many fellow reviewers praise. I still plan on trying out DMD because I know this isn’t her best work – even so, I’m disheartened by what I read here, and wouldn’t recommend this book over her previous work any day. If you’re a diehard Danielle Paige fan and still want to check this out, I’m not stopping you. Anyone else is better left leaving it on the shelf.

Retellings I Recommend Instead of Stealing Snow: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas, Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge, and Heartless by Marissa Meyer.


What did you think about this book? What other retellings have you read recently and enjoyed? Let me know in the comments below! 

One thought on “Mid-Week Mini Review: Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige (ARC)

Leave a Reply

