Book Tags · Uncategorized

Three Days, Three Quotes – Day 2

On my favorite holiday this past year, me and my family laughed until eggnog came out of our noses because my stepdad and I both bought Welcome to Night Vale for each other for Christmas since we knew how much the other loves the podcast. Sometimes on long car rides we’ll just sit together in silence listening to Cecil Palmer read in his “smooth, chocolaty baritone” (as my friend Ollie calls it) for hours on end. I picked two quotes from “Through the Narrow Place” for today because the first, longer one speaks to me on a deep and unexpected level, and I honestly just love the imagery for the second one and how it works with the quote before. I highly recommend reading the novel if you get a chance.

“But here’s a little secret for you: no one is ever the same thing again after anything. You are never the same twice, and much of your unhappiness comes from trying to pretend that you are. Accept that you are different each day, and do so joyfully, recognizing it for the gift it is. Work within the desires and goals of the person you are currently, until you aren’t that person anymore, and everything changes once again.” – Welcome to Night Vale, Episode 75, “Through the Narrow Place”

tumblr_o0ayrmvvh61rkb9kmo2_r1_500

Have you listened to this podcast? Are there other podcasts you enjoy listening to? Send me some recommendations, or just gush in the comments about your faves.

There’ll be a third quote tomorrow! If you’ve never done this but always wanted to, please give it a shot, and feel free to ping back to me if you so desire. Happy blogging.

Leave a Reply

