Monthly Updates

One Year of Blogging + 2017 Goals

One year ago, I started this blog as my new year’s resolution to be a more proactive reader. I’ve consistently blown through books without taking the time to think about them beyond “I liked it!” or “It wasn’t that great.” Unfortunately, I still catch myself doing this at times, and I believe I have a long way to go before I can be the reader and writer I want to be. This year, I want to improve the skills I’ve already been working on, and go out of my comfort zone in other areas so that I am making the most of this experience. Thank you so much to everyone who has been here every step of the way, and hopefully will stick around for the future to come! There are over 200 of you (which was my goal for the year, y’all are the best for helping me meet that) and hopefully I’ll get to meet many more incredible bloggers and writers like you all as 2017 goes forward.

I have clear goals for myself in the next month and the next year of blogging:

→ Goodreads Challenge

I’m setting another goal of 150 books for myself this year, and I want all of them to be new books instead of so many rereadings. As much as I love going back and reading my favorite authors’ works, I really want to make a dent in my TBR shelf this year, and 150 sounds like a fine place to start.

Beat the Backlist Challenge ←

Speaking of my TBR shelf, the other challenge I have for myself this year is to take care of at least 50 of those books that have been gathering dust on the 20+ pages of my Goodreads To-Be-Read selection. Check out my post here to see the details and check out my #beatthebacklist bookshelf on Goodreads.

→ Write something every day

Even if I don’t post something every day of the week, I want to be writing down ideas or thinking about a future post every day for at least a little bit of time. I tend to go into a cycle of writer’s block and let my personal anxieties and feelings of inadequacy distract me from actually getting anything done, and it’s a problem I need to work on. I bought a little notebook for myself that I’ve been keeping track of book-related thoughts in, and I plan on using that to draft up better constructed reviews, and motivate myself to post at least 3-5 times a week for the whole year.

No more hiatuses ←

If something truly horrible happens, I will likely take a short break, but I at least want to be prepared for something like that by having more scheduled posts and spend less time sitting around thinking I have nothing to say. This is piggybacking off of my last goal, but I want to be doing something, and be productive and proactive with it. I procrastinate too much and talk myself out of things more often than that. Being a proactive writer is my goal for conquering that.

Branch out, genre-wise

I read a lot of YA fantasy books this year, more than any other. I love this genre and I find it the most engaging, but I want to pick up more genres unfamiliar to me, like nonfiction or mystery. Stepping out of my comfort zone and experimenting with something new is a great way to grow as a writer and as a person, or so my parents keep telling me. I also have some titles I’ve been meandering around with for a while in those genres that deserve some attention.

Branch out in the blogosphere ←

Part of being a blogger is talking to other bloggers, and I don’t think I comment on others’ posts enough. This is a big one for me, and I plan to make time to chat more and make some real friends on here. Maybe even do a buddy read one of these days.


What are some of your goals for 2017? Let me know in the comments below. Happy New Year! 

21 thoughts on “One Year of Blogging + 2017 Goals

  1. Congratulations on your one year blogiversary and on 200+ followers Diana! And welcome back! 🙂 150 books is so much but that sounds like a wonderful reading year. I hope that you achieve all your wonderful goals. Happy new year! 😀

    Like

  2. congraaaaaaaaaaats 🙂 I am your 204 follower.
    I have been blogging for 8 months, I hope to reach my 100 today (4 followers to go).
    would you like to check my blog and maybe follow me back if you like it?
    thanks and good luck

    Like

  3. Starting a book blog was a great resolution. Congrats on completing your first year, and thanks for joining the community! It’s better with you in it.

    Holy crap, 150 books. What magic will you work to complete that goal, and can you teach me? Do you also intend to review all 150? If not, I imagine that’d make things much easier for you.

    All of your goals are awesome, and I’m sure you’ll end up having an even better blogging year in 2017 because of them. Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is so kind of you, thank you so much! I’m incredibly happy to be here and feel so welcomed.
      I read pretty fast, and I know I definitely breezed through about 100 of the books I read last year, but I want to put in the time + effort to critically read and review AT LEAST half of the (hopefully) 150 books I finish this year. I did not do that last year, and it’s harder to go back and write about them now when it’s been months since I’ve read them. Learning from that lesson is a major goal for future improvement…that I probably didn’t write about in the original post, now that I think about it. Whoops!
      Crossing my fingers that all this work makes a difference. I really care about writing and blogging a lot more than I expected to, and I already feel like I’ve grown a lot as a writer and as a person from what I’ve already done with it. Things can only go up from here! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m fully prepared to be blown away by your productivity this year. 🙂

        (Thank you for reminding me that I have a long-overdue review to write. Here’s hoping I took decent notes for that book. [I think I didn’t.])

        Your work will definitely pay off. Can’t wait to see how far you go in the next year!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

