Book Tags

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Favorite Graphic Novels/Comics

This week is all about the graphics, and I have quite a number of seriously fantastic graphic novels & comics that I recommend to everyone I meet. My parents named me after Wonder Woman because of my mom’s lifelong admiration of Princess Diana of Themiscyra, and comic books have always held a special place in my heart after growing up with them and discovering new titles on my own as I got older. As always, Top Ten Tuesday is run by the consistently clever gals over at The Broke and the Bookish.

Ten Graphic Novels + Comics I Love

1001 Emerald Nights 

I tried to chat up this book in my review of The Wrath and the Dawn because of the connection between the two stories. Terry LaBan’s comic adaptation fits into the Green Lantern world while staying true to the heart of the original fable, and was my first and everlasting favorite comic that I devoured.

Soulless

I love the original series by Gail Carriger, and even though the graphic novel adaptations only go up to book 3, they are absolutely gorgeous and great companions to the paperback series on my bookshelf.

Persepolis

I actually just read this over winter break, and it gave me a visual perspective on the Islamic Revolution in Iran that I had only gotten through government propaganda in history textbooks. A must-read, and a perfect book to read in one sitting.

Sunstone

I put off reading this for a while because of the BDSM aspect, but the story itself is focused on the relationships between characters and how they grow from their mistakes as healthy, communicative adults. Plus the art is breathtaking.

Nimona

I started reading Nimona online about halfway through it’s run, then got the chance to buy it directly from Noelle & get it signed at Small Press Expo (SPX) in 2015.

Scott Pilgrim

I’m obsessed with this movie. Let’s just get that fact straight. I breezed right through the graphic novel series after the movie came out, and I can still quote so much of it today.

The Crow 

Another movie that I love, but this edition was a gift from a family friend, and it was really O’Barr’s author’s note (as well as the artistry) that stuck out to me the most.

Fun Home

I got to read this for my Intro to LGBT Literature class as a sophomore in college, and I think it was my favorite book for the entire class, but that might be because I read it 5 times and wrote a 12 page paper on it. You just don’t do that with books you didn’t like.

Saga

This one was a buddy read with my mom! Not the kind of thing I would normally read with her, but we both ADORE Fiona Staples and Brian K. Vaughn’s other works, so this was an absolute treat for us.

Diana Prince, Wonder Woman

This is the comic that made me fall in love with Wonder Woman, my namesake. It’s from her 70s reboot after the disastrous turn her comic series took following the death of William Moulton Marston, and it was my first Wonder Woman comic that I ever picked up. The story had me sold, and the rest is history.

Honorable mentions: Rat Queens, Lumberjanes, Giant Days, Sex Criminals, and Wayward. I could list some more, but I’d have a whole other top 10! (Okay, I’ll list some more: Paper Girls, Y: The Last Man, Elfquest, Fatale, and Alias: Jessica Jones. If there’s something you think should be up here but isn’t, I probably haven’t read it yet (i.e. Ms. Marvel), so comment your recommendations for me!)


What are some graphic novels that you love? I’m happy to take any recommendations! Link your own TTT in the comments as well!

Leave a Reply

