Book Tags

Diversity Spotlight Thursday

The Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by actual queen Aimal on her blog Bookshelves and Paperbacks! In celebration of Black History Month, I’m going to focus on Black literature for the next 4 weeks, including in my weekly Diversity Spotlights.

The rules are simple – in your diversity spotlight post, you share three books:

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

If you want to read more about it, you can check out the Announcement Post!


A Diverse Book I Read + Enjoyed

28818313

I received an ARC of Iron Cast by Destiny Soria (click the link to see my review!) last year, and I breezed right through the novel before settling on a solid 3 stars for my review. I believe I bumped it up on my blog at least a half star after a second go-around in audiobook format, read by Christine Marshall. I’d definitely recommend the audio, I think it helped me slow down and appreciate the story more than I did originally.


A Diverse Book on my TBR

18710209

Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra & Dhonielle Clayton

Goodreads Synopsis:

Gigi, Bette, and June, three top students at an exclusive Manhattan ballet school, have seen their fair share of drama. Free-spirited new girl Gigi just wants to dance—but the very act might kill her. Privileged New Yorker Bette’s desire to escape the shadow of her ballet star sister brings out a dangerous edge in her. And perfectionist June needs to land a lead role this year or her controlling mother will put an end to her dancing dreams forever. When every dancer is both friend and foe, the girls will sacrifice, manipulate, and backstab to be the best of the best.

This is one of the books on my February TBR, I’m just waiting to hear back from my local library about when the copy currently checked out will be returned so I can snag it.


A Diverse Book Coming Soon

25062038

Little & Lion by Brandy Colbert

Goodreads synopsis:

When Suzette comes home to Los Angeles from her boarding school in New England, she isn’t sure if she’ll ever want to go back. L.A. is where her friends and family are (along with her crush, Emil). And her stepbrother, Lionel, who has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder, needs her emotional support.

But as she settles into her old life, Suzette finds herself falling for someone new…the same girl her brother is in love with. When Lionel’s disorder spirals out of control, Suzette is forced to confront her past mistakes and find a way to help her brother before he hurts himself–or worse.

Release date: August 8th, 2017


Have you read any of these books yet? What did you think? Link your Diversity Spotlight in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday

    1. They were both very good, and while I had problems with each, those issues didn’t outweigh the unique and captivating storytelling that made these books worth talking about. I’m glad I had a chance to read them and recommend them to others!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

