Book Tags

Teaser Tuesday #4

I’ve been looking through my old posts, and I’m constantly like, “I’m really sick! Hanging out at home pumping tea into my veins like an IV!” Having a shit immune system is obviously the greatest time and I don’t understand why everyone doesn’t give it a try. Surprisingly, I actually feel pretty okay today, and I’m feeling proud of myself for making it to one week with my new anxiety medication. I have a bad habit of flaking out on my anxiety meds because it doesn’t feel like anything changed, or I forgot to take them and have to start over again, or some other silly reason, but I’m doing a lot better and it shows. Aside from that brief personal note, I’m doing another Teaser Tuesday this week, which is a weekly bookish meme is hosted by MizB from Books and a Beat. Check them out for more awesome reviews!

Rules:

1. Grab your current read

2. Open to a random page

3. Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

Currently Reading: You’re Welcome, Universe by Whitney Gardner

25701463

“My work looks right back at me. It’s the biggest, most beautiful piece I’ve ever done. My gift to Greenlawn. You’re welcome, Universe.”

This quote is from earlier in the book than I’m at right now, but title drop! It’s also, in my opinion, her second biggest and most beautiful work – I’m a huge fan of the Julia-inspired artwork in the tunnel, even though the graffiti whale is gorgeous too. The artwork that is included in the chapters where Julia paints is one of my favorite parts of this book. The visual representation adds a certain spark to the book that I can’t get enough of. – 48% done

Other highlights: deaf + Indian MC, interracial marriage between deaf + lesbian parents, all kinds of deaf culture things, a supporting character who is recovering from an eating disorder, amazing graffiti artwork!! I’m not going to be surprised if there are people who dislike Julia for being kind of abrasive and slacking off with a “who cares” attitude, but I personally like her character a lot and am seriously enjoying this debut so far.

I’ll have my review up tomorrow for a mid-week mini review, so stay tuned for that!


Link your own Teaser Tuesday in the comments below! Happy blogging!

14 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday #4

  1. I’m so glad you’re enjoying this! I’m really looking forward to this book. I didn’t know that it included visuals of the artwork but that’s so cool.
    Also just as a side note, Books and a Beat closed and doesn’t host Teaser Tuesday anymore. It’s hosted by The Purple Booker now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, thank you! I’ll edit that asap. I read an eARC of YWU with black & white illustrations, so I’m kind of hoping the official print release has them in color to really represent the graffiti paints. Even in B&W it was beautiful work. I can’t wait to see what you think of it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No problem! I almost made the same mistake a couple of weeks ago and it seems like quite a few bloggers aren’t aware of the change so I’ve been trying to help people out, haha.
        Color photos would be even better! They’d be more expensive though so I don’t know if the publisher will do it. Guess we’ll have to wait and see 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I might do this more often, but in a slightly different format. A lot of people nowadays are looking for different, underrepresented experiences in YA stories, and I’m more than happy to highlight them.

      Like

    1. I had actually forgotten to take my meds today until I saw this, so bless you for reminding me.
      I’m writing my review now! Planning on posting it after class 😀 I also got a bunch of books for Valentine’s Day, so I have lots and lots of reviews to write in the upcoming weeks. And book haul pictures, of course! Hope your Valentine’s went just as well. 💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I appreciate it always.
        Just found out my Uppercase Box shipped today, too – I splurged a little and got one after all those emails calling this month ~*super exclusive*~ even though all I really want is another book quotes scarf – so more book mail! I’m so pumped to have an actual haul this month because I NEVER buy books. I’m a library fiend 98% of the time. It’s so bad that I found a SIGNED COPY of The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon the other day and didn’t buy it because I haven’t read it yet and I was afraid I wouldn’t like it. >__<

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ooh, I can’t wait to hear what’s in the Ultimate Exclusivity Box of Exclusiveness! I hope it’s all awesome and photogenic stuff, so I can be jealous from afar.

        I applaud and support your decision not to buy the autographed copy, honestly. I’d rather save the money, use the library, and splurge on books I know I’m desperate for. (It was a splurgey month for me, too; I bought a gorgeous leather-bound Pride & Prejudice that I can’t stop staring at. [Pets it.]

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I will be sure to do an Uppercase unboxing post as soon as possible. I opened it the minute I got home, and there is some cute as heck stuff inside. The book is one I’d never heard of, so I’m looking forward to reading it! Of course I’ll go into more detail in the actual post, though 🙂
        Whew, it’s nice to hear I’m not the only one who thinks that way. It feels like there are a ton of people on here (and Twitter, and Instagram) who are constantly buying books and would’ve jumped for a chance like that…but it’s just not for me (or my wallet). Please tell me you took pictures of that stunning work of art because SWOON ALERT, that sounds amazing! *jealous sighing*

        Like

Leave a Reply

