Book Tags

Top Ten Tuesday: Covers Freebie!

Happy Tuesday, loves! It’s a gorgeous spring day out here in Washington, DC and even though work flew by, I’m glad to be home soaking up the sun. As always, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the noble land mermaids over at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose from and give us their top ten! This week’s theme is a cover freebie, and in the spirit of art and infinite sadness, I decided to highlight my Top Ten Most Gorgeous Books That Bored Me To Tears.


All of these covers are so stunning, and almost all of their covers are what initially drove me to read these books in the first place! But at the end of the day, I was bored out of my mind while reading these, and was left feeling disappointed that something so lovely could ring so hollow in my mind. I know there are likely a ton of you who adore these books, but they just weren’t for me! At least I know they’ll look pretty on my bookshelf.

What books do you love the cover for, but disliked the story? Do you agree with any of my choices? Let me know in the comments below!

 

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Covers Freebie!

    1. It’s honestly been years since I’ve read Wither. I’ve thought about going back and trying again, but I feel I’ll be bored again. They are so pretty, though. I just wanna look at them, y’know? 🙂

      Like

  1. Glad to see I’m not the only one who didn’t really enjoy Truthwitch or Crimson Bound! I thought Truthwitch was very lacking in pretty much everything and Crimson Bound was confusing for me and the characters were blah. But those covers are gorgeous! Great list! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Truthwitch had so much potential that went flat. It makes me so sad because I want to love Susan Dennard, I really do, but I can’t stand her writing. Crimson Bound was just okay in my opinion, I much preferred Cruel Beauty, but I am also a sucker for Beauty and the Beast retellings. There hasn’t been a single one I haven’t loved yet, haha! Thanks so much! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m surprised you weren’t a fan of Shatter Me. I haven’t read it yet but I know everybody’s going crazy for the new announcement haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So I’ve heard! I just couldn’t get into that writing style, though. I was so annoyed at all the words crossed out and the utter lack of flow in the story. Tahereh Mafi is such a lovely person and I adore her blog (and the fact she lives so close to my mom’s house with Ransom Riggs) but man, that writing. Not my style at all. I hope you enjoy it if you get around to reading it! Totally recommend checking out her personal stuff either way. Her family rocks. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Fair enough, maybe it is just an overhyped book. I’ll definitely have to get round to read it at some point though😊

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read any of these books but it’s such a shame to hear you didn’t like them when the covers are so pretty. I have to say Wink Poppy Midnight is a book I feel the same about. I was drawn in by the cover. I was really looking forward to it and I was just so bored with it. I ended up DNFing it. It was such a shame.

    Like

    1. Wink Poppy Midnight was so close to making it on this list, I almost added a bonus list to include it. I could not get into that book for the life of me! It was beyond boring, and I left feeling like, “what just happened? And why did I read the whole thing?” You really didn’t miss out by DNFing it.
      Not all of the books on my list are bad, honestly – they just bored me to tears! I know a ton of people who are super into the Firebird trilogy especially. I’m saving my heart and soul for Cold Summer myself, which has a similar cover art style but waaaaay better characters. Totally recommend. 🙂

      Like

      1. Yeah reading Wink Poppy Midnight ended up feeling like a chore trying to get through it and then I would barely remember what I read. Such a shame.
        Ah it sucks because The Firebird trilogy books all have such lovely covers. I just realized that’s by the author who wrote Defy the Stars. I’ve heard a lot of good things about that book. Hoping that ends up being good.
        I’ve seen people talking about Cold Summer. I don’t know much about it but I’ll add it to books I want to read. Thanks for the recommendation.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. The whole Firebird trilogy has some of the prettiest covers I’ve ever seen. I only wish what was between those pages turned out as good 😦 I do know a lot of people who enjoyed the series though, so here’s hoping you end up liking at least part of it if you get around to reading it one day! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh I love your take on this weeks theme Diana, I haven’t seen anyone else feature anything like this! I am sorry to see you didn’t enjoy Shatter Me, Ten Thousand Skies Above You, Crimson Bound or The Winner’s Crime, those are four books I really enjoyed and actually Crimson Bound is a favourite of mine. Still even if you didn’t enjoy the book at least we can agree the covers are gorgeous.
    I haven’t read any of the others myself, though Lady Midnight is on my to-read list so hopefully I’ll be able to get around to it soon, but I have heard of Luxe and honestly, no matter how gorgeous the cover is it isn’t a story that really interests me. Seeing it on your list for this week isn’t inspiring me to pick it up either.
    Great picks for this week! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Beth! 😀 Honestly, I tried my hardest to get into Shatter Me and Crimson Bound, but neither of them gripped me the way those authors’ other books did (I still love Cruel Beauty. Sooooo lovely). The covers look fantastic on my bookshelf though, that is for sure.
      I hope you enjoy Lady Midnight, especially now that Lord of Shadows is out! The book was really just too big for me, and made me want to reread The Infernal Devices because I liked the plot, writing, and characters so much better. I don’t know if Cassie will ever be able to top that trilogy in my heart.
      Luxe was a monumental let down. I almost added The Selection to this list, but I didn’t want to have too many books with big flowy dresses on them. And Luxe was just terrible. Seeing a character with the same name as me made it worse because of how utterly awful she was. Nothing in that book was good, it’s definitely one to pass. If I ever find a book I actually enjoy with a lovely lady in a stunning ballgown, I’ll be sure to pass it on! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

