Book Tags

Book Traveling Thursdays: Early Mother’s Day Edition!

Happy Thursday! I love May, and I am so excited for all the awesome upcoming books this month. It’s about to start raining here, so I’m curled up in my blanket with some tea rereading Burn For Me by Ilona Andrews in preparation for the release of White Hot in just a few weeks! In the meantime, Book Traveling Thursdays are a weekly meme created by the ever-lovely Cátia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. The goal is to share the covers of a book related to that week’s theme, which you can see at the Goodreads group, indicating the original cover, the one of your country, your favorite and least favorite.

This week’s topic is Mother’s Day is on a few days… Choose a book with your favorite bookish mom.


Original Cover + Cover from the US

4989

I received a copy of The Red Tent from my Jewish godmother around the time of my 16th birthday. The story of Dinah has stuck with me ever since – and the stories of her mothers in the red tent celebrating womanhood and female relationships in an intimate, exquisitely detailed way through the writing of Anita Diamant. There are things I love and hate about Leah, Rachel, Zilpah, and Bilbah, but their stories made me feel closer to my own mother and all my aunties and godmothers not related by blood, but by love and by spirit. It’s a wonderful book for Mother’s Day and it’s got some really great (and really terrible) covers from around the world.

My Favorite Cover(s):

The Romanian, Portuguese, and French covers all exemplify different interpretations of Dinah herself, and from different parts of the story. I love the art style in the Romanian cover for all of its detail and the lighting especially. The French one, while less detailed, still offers a profound glimpse of what Dinah may have looked like while in Egypt, and the lighting on her face as well reflects this. I’m a sucker for good lighting, y’all. It frames the whole picture that way.

My Least Favorite Cover(s):

Meanwhile, the Hungarian, Finnish, and Dutch covers just look weird. It look me about 10 minutes to figure out what the Hungarian cover was because the first woman’s body is the same color as the background of the picture, which makes the red body stand out but completely erases the first body. Short answer? It looks bizarre. The Finnish cover is even worse! And while the Dutch cover isn’t that bad, I still dislike how it looks like a less flattering version of the original cover. Somethings just shouldn’t change.


What do you think about these covers? Link your own BTT in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

