Book Tags

Diversity Spotlight Thursday: Contemporary Edition

Happy Thursday, y’all. Due to my unexpected hiatus from writing anything because of Crippling Anxiety, dropping out of school, and losing my job, I haven’t done any of these in too long. I missed almost all of May and June, which was a huge let down for me, and only now am I even scratching the surface of getting back into my blogging groove. I may not post often, but I love these tags for the simplicity of sharing good books with others, and I appreciate everyone who sticks around even when these are 80% of what I post most weeks. As always, Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Aimal @ Bookshelves and Paperbacks – thanks, Aimal, for everything. Please link your own for this week in the comments below so I can get some new books on my radar! ♥

The rules are simple – in your diversity spotlight post, you share three books:

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

This week I’m going to talk about contemporary books that have been on my radar, as a way to say thanks to the books and their authors who have been helping me get through a tough time in my life. I honestly can’t believe how many of those life-saving books are contemporaries, but hey, here’s to many more.


A Diverse Book I Read & Enjoyed

28245707

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Will I ever shut up about this book, you ask? The answer is a resounding no. I ADORED Queens of Geek at every moment, in every conversation, on every page. As a diverse book, it has a dual POV between a Chinese-Australian bisexual MC and an Aspie queen of deep breathing and overcoming crippling panic attacks, both on the most adorkable journeys of self-acceptance and being the cutest beans in love with the people their hearts melt for the most. IT’S JUST REALLY CUTE OKAY.

Goodreads Synopsis:

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Reese Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.


A Diverse Book on my TBR

26240663

Seven Ways We Lie by Riley Redgate

The biggest reason why this is on my TBR is because of the pansexuality rep, which I’ve never read about in a book before, and although I know I haven’t picked it up yet because I’ve heard lots of mixed things about this book, but it’s got the pieces to make a solid read and I’m looking forward to seeing where it takes me.

Goodreads Synopsis:

Seven students. Seven (deadly) sins. One secret.

Paloma High School is ordinary by anyone’s standards. It’s got the same cliques, the same prejudices, the same suspect cafeteria food. And like every high school, every student has something to hide—from Kat, the thespian who conceals her trust issues onstage, to Valentine, the neurotic genius who’s planted the seed of a school scandal.

When that scandal bubbles over, and rumors of a teacher-student affair surface, everyone starts hunting for someone to blame. For the seven unlikely allies at the heart of it all, the collision of their seven ordinary-seeming lives results in extraordinary change.


A Diverse Book Coming Soon

24974996

Dear Martin by Nic Stone

If Angie Thomas calls it a must-read, that’s how you know you need to pick it up ASAP.

Goodreads Synopsis:

Justyce McAllister is top of his class, captain of the debate team, and set for the Ivy League next year—but none of that matters to the police officer who just put him in handcuffs. He is eventually released without charges (or an apology), but the incident has Justyce spooked. Despite leaving his rough neighborhood, he can’t seem to escape the scorn of his former peers or the attitude of his prep school classmates. The only exception: Sarah Jane, Justyce’s gorgeous—and white—debate partner he wishes he didn’t have a thing for.

Struggling to cope with it all, Justyce starts a journal to Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. But do Dr. King’s teachings hold up in the modern world? Justyce isn’t so sure.

Then comes the day Justyce goes driving with his best friend, Manny, windows rolled down, music turned up. Way up. Much to the fury of the white off-duty cop beside them. Words fly. Shots are fired. And Justyce and Manny get caught in the crosshairs. In the media fallout, it’s Justyce who is under attack. The truth of what happened that night—some would kill to know. Justyce is dying to forget.

Release Date: October 17th, 2017


Have you read any of these books yet? What did you think? Link your Diversity Spotlight in the comments below!

5 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday: Contemporary Edition

  1. This was a lovely post! That being said, I hope things genuinely look up for you. I can’t imagine what you must be going through, but I can only wish that from here on out, life starts to get better. All the best with everything!

    Like

    1. Aww, thank you so much! That really means a lot to me. It’s been crazy stressful but coming back to the blogosphere is so uplifting, and I’m looking forward to more posts, reviews, and interactions like these in my future ❤ Wishing you the best as well! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We’re genuinely all here to support one another so, as Diana Prince would say, it is our sacred duty to help each other out whenever we can 🙂 Thank you and I too am looking forward to future posts of yours! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

