Book Tags

Standalone Sunday: Night Sky With Exit Wounds by Ocean Vuong

Ocean. Ocean – get up. The most beautiful part of your body is where it’s headed. & remember, loneliness is still time spent with the world.

— excerpt from Someday I’ll Love Ocean Vuong

Happy Sunday, blogosphere! I’m still posting from the RVA and doing my best to write something meaningful under the life-sucking heat that is radiating across the East Coast right now. It’s been an age since I’ve done this tag, and I’ve wanted to talk about this collection since it first came across my radar in early May. As always, Standalone Sunday is a feature created by Megan @ Bookslayer Reads where each Sunday we will feature a standalone book (not part of a series) that you loved or would recommend! There’s tons of focus on books that are part of a series, so this is the place to show some love for standalone novels, too!

My choice for this week:

Night Sky With Exit Wounds is a short collection of poetry that I read for Asian Lit Bingo during Asian-American Heritage Month, and while I wasn’t able to post about during the month itself, I’m here now to tell you that two full months later, I still find some of Ocean Vuong’s words flowing across my mind and keeping me as enraptured as I was the first time I laid eyes on them. The book itself contains 35 poems of varying length and style, but all of them are mesmerizing, raw, engrossing, and utterly heart-wrenching from beginning to end. He tackles relationships with lovers and family, the Vietnam War and its aftermath, even simple conversations turned into lyrical memento within these pages. I loved it, and if you’re at all a fan of poetry, it’s more than worth the quick read.


What are some poetry collections you’re a big fan of? Let me know + link your own Standalone Sunday in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

